Sean O’Keefe is Greenwich Public Schools' new chief operating officer. Photo Credit: Courtesy of Greenwich Public Schools
New Canaan High School’s 2019 National Merit Commended Scholars are: Isha Teredesai, Anna Therese Mehra, Vivian Ding, Alexis Axon, Audrey Bloom, Christopher Carratu, Theodore Nelson, Andrew Jameson, and Tara Chugh. Photo Credit: Courtesy of New Canaan Public Schools
New Canaan Schools Announced 25 National Merit Scholars Photo Credit: Daily Voice File

Around The Schools: Greenwich Schools Has A New COO, New Budget Plan; New Canaan Lauds Scholars

Sean O’Keefe is the new chief operating officer for Greenwich Public Schools. He will take over Dec. 16, replacing Lorianne O’Donnell who accepted a position with Abilis.

The job entails overseeing the district's operations related to finance and facilities. O’Keefe previously was the business administrator for the Trumbull Board of Education where he was responsible for all operational and financial areas.

Prior to working in educational administration, he worked at IBM in various capacities including managing the company's worldwide IT budget and various global financial roles in the United States, Asia, Pacific, and Europe.

"His management of largescale and complex projects coupled with his strong abilities in financial and operational oversight make him a great asset for our team,” said Greenwich Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Toni Jones.

Greenwich Superintendent Presents Budget

The proposed 2020-2021 Operating Budget Greenwich Superintendent of Schools Dr. Toni Jones presented at the Nov. 7 Board of Education meeting of $167,141,586 represents a 2.31% increase over the current year’s budget.

Full-time salaries account for approximately 80% of the expense budget, excluding benefits that are carried under the Town of Greenwich budget.

Most employees are part of collective bargaining units that provide for annual contractual salary increases, according to the proposal.  

For the fiscal year 2020-2021 school year, contractual salary increases will add approximately $2.4 million to the FY19-20 budget and accounts for 63% of the district’s year-over-year increase.

Click here to read the proposal.

New Canaan Schools Has 25 Scholars

A total of 25 New Canaan High School seniors are 2019 Merit Scholars in either the Semifinalist, Commended, or Hispanic Scholar categories. 

This places them in the top percentile of 1.5 million students who took the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test last October.

National Merit Commended Scholars: 

Jane Charlton, Heather Doherty, Ryan Benevento, Helen Culpepper, Hannah Suthons, Hollis Kammerer, Jonathan Hall, Griffen Dayton, Thomas Marshall, Steven Hoge, Bartholmew Codd, Brian Campe, Andrew Morse, Alessio Pantaleo, and Daniel Tierney.

The National Merit Semifinalist Scholars: 

Teredesai, Anna Therese Mehra, Vivian Ding, Alexis Axon, Audrey Bloom, Christopher Carratu, Theodore Nelson, Andrew Jameson, and Tara Chugh.

National Hispanic Scholar

Kaitlyn McCall